To be or not to be

“I’m not an environmentalist.  I’m an Earth warrior.”  – Darryl Cherney

According to Merriam-Webster, green is defined as a) relating to or being an environmentalist political movement; b) concerned with or supporting environmentalism; or c) tending to preserve environmental quality (as by being recyclable, biodegradable, or nonpolluting).

Going green, therefore, can be defined as making the conscious decision to live a more environmentally friendly lifestyle. It’s not an easy choice to make because, well, nothing is easy, and changing the way you’ve lived after so many years of habit is no exception. What’s important to keep in mind is this: Even the smallest steps, the littlest changes, can make a world of difference.

Photo courtesy mynewplace.com

Photo courtesy mynewplace.com

A while ago I was Googling random environmental phrases, and I stumbled upon this quiz. I was feeling somewhat adventurous and knowledgeable, so I took it. And then I failed. Viewing my certificate that may as well have had “YOU SUCK” stamped in big red letters, I realized that I didn’t know all that much about the world of eco-friendliness. Was I embarrassed? Maybe a little. Was I discouraged? No way. (And that wasn’t just because the quiz used British words and kept mentioning Singapore, two things that quite honestly baffle me).

The point is, you don’t have to be a know-it-all to start low-impact living that will help our environment. There are countless — and simple — ways in which you can reduce your carbon footprint, or the impact your actions have on the planet. Once you see the damage you’ve done, you can take action to stop and to reverse it. And that doesn’t have to mean making radical life changes. You don’t have to go vegan or purchase a hybrid car if you don’t want to. You can just alter a few things here and there and begin to make a difference.

Photo courtesy whataboutloans.com

Photo courtesy whataboutloans.com

If you decide that living environmentally friendly is a challenge you’re willing to try, I hope you’ll check back to this blog on occasion. Consider it a source of the easier-way-out tidbits for the more environmentally lazy challenged, such as myself.

Remember, it’s all about the small steps. So, after you’ve finished reading, shut down your computer, unplug it and take that first step.

Leave a Reply

